While we haven’t seen any towns in The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, many have speculated, myself included, that the towns are connected with the overall story and now in an interview with IGN, series producer Eiji Aonuma has confirmed just that!

“I can’t share too much about villages because the way they work is interconnected to the story and overall world. It would be spoilers, so I wouldn’t want to do that now. I think that in adventure games the idea of meeting people and saying farewell to them is an important aspect. So that’s definitely in there…[Termina] is one of the most important aspects of that game. But to say that we took that thing and just plopped it into Breath of the Wild would be incorrect. Of course, I mean, it took about a year to make that town [for Majora’s Mask].” – Eiji Aonuma

 

